DIY Vintage to Now: Creating Something New From Something Old

HEY EVERYONE, NEW DIY PROJECT!  THIS PROJECT WAS CREATED BY OUR KUTZTOWN EMPLOYEE, IVY.  CHECK IT OUT AS SHE SHOWS YOU HOW TO MAKE AN AWESOME NECKLACE FROM CHAINS AND SKELETON KEYS.  THANKS IVY!

Years may pass and trends fade away but they leave behind loads of clothing and accessories. Say you find yourself some old jewelry that has potential but just doesn’t cut it in today’s fashion. Well, take it apart. Destroy something old to create something new. I didn’t have vintage jewelry to take apart so instead I hunted some down. The best places to look are the typical thrift shops but I had a very small budget so I went to the flea market. Flea Markets are a great place to find a vast variety of vintage jewelry at a low cost.

While I looked I kept passing vendor after vendor selling over-priced pieces. I thought to myself, why would I pay $10 for something I will take apart? As I searched I finally found a whole stand of jewelry and I began forming my idea for the design. I bought 3 different silver chains but it didn’t seem complete, it needed charms. So I later found a man selling skeleton keys 3 for $5 and I was done.

Besides the key elements for the necklace I also needed tools and some silver plated wire. These can be found at any craft store that sells jewelry making supplies. In this case these include a round nose pliers a flat notes pliers and a wire cutter.

Having everything I needed I drew up my design.

To make this I had to take two chains apart and cut one into 4 pieces and the other into 5 pieces, one being longer than the others. This long piece will be the middle. After that all the chains are spaced apart and overlapping. I arranged them to hang as well so they are not tight against the main chain. Now to attach them: for one type of chain it easy simply to bend open the end piece with the pliers on each side and twist. Then these pieces can pop onto the designated area of the main chain and closed the same way as opened with both pliers. To attach the other is where the wire comes in.

Take the beginning and wrap it around the round nose pliers close to the bottom. Keep wrapping them at the same spot until you have a coil of about 10 rings and cut the remaining wire off.

Now cut into the first ring and the end of the wire to make little jump rings and continue to end of coil. Like the chain pop the ring open with the two pliers and slip the chain end inside and attach to main chain and then close. Do this with all others. Finally the 3 keys are randomly placed on the main chain just like the other chain links. When it is complete the effort has paid off as you look at the finished project.

 

Leave a Reply

